RSES Header Logo
Certificate Member Specialist
Certificate Member Specialist (CMS) is a classification of RSES membership.  Exclusive to RSES Members, this designation is earned after successfully passing one (or more) rigorous written examinations.

There are currently eight exams, each focusing on a specialized area of expertise.  Click on the exam title below to view the exam categories:
Commercial Air Conditioning
Commercial Refrigeration
Domestic Service
Dynamic Compression
Heat Pump
HVACR Electrical 

Who Can Take the CMS Exam?

Any RSES Certificate Member (CM) who is in good standing may take the exam.


What is the Cost to Take the CMS Exam?

The cost for a CMS exam is $35 per test.


What Does RSES do to Promote my Achievements?

All successful CMS candidates receive two personalized wall certificates; one indicating their new status in the organization as a Certificate Member Specialist (CMS)  and the other an RSES Technical Institute Level 5 certificate suitable for framing along with a patch promoting their new status.

In addition, all future correspondence includes the CMS designation with the member's name - and the member is encouraged to do the same. With the member's permission, his or her employer is automatically notified of successful passing. Further, the names of successful candidates are included in each month's RSES Journal, as well as listed in press releases and broadcast e-mail sent to industry peers and publications.

In each Specialist category, the Imperial Award is granted to the member with the highest score. Members who earn five of the eight currently available Specialist categories earn the Wayburn Wilson Award. Both awards are presented at the RSES Annual Conference.

Where Can I Take the Exam?

Certificate Member Specialist (CMS) examinations may be offered at State or Regional training events, through a local Chapter designated test day, at International Seminars or the Annual RSES Conference.

View the RSES Events Calendar to find scheduled exams in your area or contact your local Chapter to obtain testing date and location information in your area. 

Need More Information?

For more information on the Certificate Member Specialist (CMS) examination, please call RSES at 800/297-5660 x 2338 or 847/297-6464, or e-mail us at
  • 1911 Rohlwing Road, Suite A
  • Rolling Meadows, IL
  • 60008-1397
  • Toll Free Phone: 800/297-5660
  • Phone: 847-297-6464

©2011 RSES. All Rights Reserved.